San Diego DUI lawyer: First DUI legal process
Many individuals charged with a first DUI have no prior criminal record, and are not familiar with DUI criminal law. This page explains the consequences of a first drunk driving conviction under California law. While penalties for a conviction vary between San Diego and other jurisdictions, it’s important to avoid not just a standard penalty, but also the indirect consequences of a conviction.
A number of terms are associated with DUI, including:
- Drunk driving
- Drunken driving
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
- Drinking and driving
- Impaired driving
Regardless of the term used, the important first step is to contact a competent San Diego criminal defense attorney.
First DUI Penalties under California Law
Penalties depend on a number of factors, including the facts of your case, the particular judge, and the prosecutor. If no bodily injury or death is associated with the DUI, the minimum terms for a first conviction include:
- A $390 fine and up to $2,000 in other assessments.
- A 48-hour jail sentence or a 90-day license restriction allowing work-related driving, and to and from an alcohol treatment program.
- Successful completion of an alcohol-treatment program. The program is nine months if your blood alcohol level was at or above 0.20%.
- Loss of your driver’s license for at least 30 days, followed by additional restrictions.
Given the consequences for a first arrest, it's important to avoid either a DUI felony or a DUI misdemeanor conviction. Retain the services of a San Diego criminal defense attorney familiar with handling DUI cases in San Diego County.
Call Ross Law Center for a top-rated DUI attorney to talk with you about your drunk driving case in San Diego, Vista, El Cajon, Oceanside, Chula Vista, and elsewhere in San Diego County.